Edith Hopper Park, Ladies Mile, Manly

Court Resurfacing – 2017

Court replacement

Day 1 – Tuesday 9th May, 2017
The court resurfacing began with the removal of the old astroturf on Courts 4,5 & 6.

Day 2 – Wednesday 10th May, 2017
The asphalt court surface was cleared of all sand. The new astroturf was marked out and placed into position.

Day 3 to 6 – Thursday 11th May to Sunday 14th May, 2017
Rain and strong winds on Thursday & Friday prevented any further progress.

Day 7 – Monday 15th May, 2017
The new inner court surface (non-baseline) was laid out for courts 4,5 &6

Day 8 – Tuesday 16th May, 2017
The baseline areas were laid for courts 4,5 &6. Service lines were cut in and court edges & seams were glued.

Day 9 to 13 – Wednesday 17th to Sunday 21st May, 2017
Heavy rain and strong winds halted further progress. The newly laid surface needs to dry out before the sand can be applied, most likely on Monday. The application of the sand will make the pile stand up and you will not notice the different colours due to the baseline pile running in the opposite direction.

Day 14 – Monday 22nd May, 2017
Late delivery of the sand, meant that only one layer of sand (approximately 7 tonnes) was laid today. A further two layers are needed.

Day 15 – Tuesday 23rd May, 2017
A further 28 tonnes of sand was added to the courts. Final grooming of the courts was started.

Day 16 – Wednesday 24th May, 2017
The nets were put up on courts 4,5 & 6 and the Midweek social ladies were the first to enjoy playing on the new surface. The old astroturf on courts 1, 2 & 3 was removed.

Day 17 – Thursday 25th May, 2017
The new inner court surface (non-baseline) was laid out for court 3

Day 22 – Tuesday 30th May, 2017
The new inner court surface (non-baseline) was laid out for courts 1 & 2

Day 24 – Thursday 1st June, 2017
The baseline areas were laid for courts 1,2 & 3. The application of the sand will make the pile stand up and you will not notice the different colours due to the baseline pile running in the opposite direction.

Day 29 – Tuesday 6th June, 2017
The service lines were cut in and 3 layers of sand was added to Courts 1,2 & 3.

Day 30- Wednesday 7th June, 2017
A total of 35 tonnes of sand was laid on Courts 1,2 & 3 followed by a final layer of sand and grooming on all the courts. The nets on Courts 1,2 & 3 were reinstalled, in time for Wednesday Club Night.

Official Opening – Sunday 2nd July, 2017
The newly resurfaced tennis courts were officially unveiled before the start of the 2017 Annual General Meeting. A few short speeches were made by our President, Brendon Forbes and Patron, Larry Cross followed by Life Member Tuku Graham cutting the ceremonial ribbon.