Scroll Top
Edith Hopper Park, Ladies Mile, Manly

Mens Day – 2018


Another successful Mens Day drawn doubles tournament was held at Whangaparaoa Tennis Club on Sunday 20th May 2018.

A field of 42 men partook in Mens Day, always a highlight of the year and great that almost a third of players were from other clubs.

The ladies who helped out were absolutely amazing and we owe them a huge thanks for all the effort that goes in, the food was divine. Huge thanks too must go to our Patron Larry Cross who ran the day with his customary efficiency and humour and to all the others who helped out with registrations and serving drinks behind the bar. The prizegiving was very special as Don McIntyre was present – a Life Member who has done so much for the club and who donated the trophy, the unique wooden toilet seat.

This aforementioned trophy was won by Brendon Forbes and Brian Hayward, with Richard Holm and Bryan Barrett being runners up. Hamish Syrett & Steve Peters won the Plate competition (Steven Lay and Steven Thorne were runners up), Classic was won by Steve Higgins & Peter Lyness, and Consolation was won by Maurice Harvey and Campbell Ellison.

This tournament is so generously supported by our sponsors who donated fabulous prizes, allowing us to have prizes to award to winners and runners up, as well as spot prizes at the end of the day.

Special thanks needs to be given to:  You Travel Manly (Trish Ryder), and OstoMe


Winners  – Brendon Forbes & Brian Hayward
Runners up  – Bryan Barrett & Richard Holm

Winners  – Hamish Syrett & Steve Peters
Runners up  – Steven Lay & Steven Thorne

Classic Plate:
Winners  – Steve Higgins & Peter Lyness

Winners  – Maurice Harvey & Campbell Ellison